Sub-regional Organization

About RAIS

  Information Resources

 Other links



   Document Repository



Search Site Map EGFAR Webring Contact us

Home > Sub-Regional Organizations>Nile Valley...


Arab Peninsula
Nile Valley & Red Sea

Western Asia


Nile Valley & Red Sea

The Nile Valley & Red Sea sub-region that is covered by the Nile Valley and Red Sea sub-regional grouping of AARINENA is constituted by 5 countries: Djibouti, Egypt, Sudan, Somalia and Yemen. These countries roughly cover 4.7 million sq. km. and have a total population of 115 million. Average per capita GNP for the region is estimated at US$650.

Nile Valley and Red Sea sub-regional grouping was established to provide AARINENA, the Regional Organisation, with a sub-regional contact point, a liaison officer. More spefically, the liaison officer has the following functions: a) assist the sub-regional grouping in deciding on its modus operandi and the way it organises its work and how it relates to other political and technical groupings in the sub-region, b) serve as a contact point with the other AARINENA sub-regional groups, as well as with the CGIAR centres, donor agencies and relevant organizations, c) act as a clearinghouse for regional and sub-regional projects and follow-up of their implementation, and d) represent the sub-region in the Executive Committee of AARINENA.

Nile Valley & Red Sea Liaison Officer


About AARINENA | Sub-regional Organization | About RAIS | Information Resources | E-discussion

Document Repository | Other links | Events | Spotlights | Search | EGFAR Webring | Site Map